Hunter Education Program


Overview

The Hunter Education Program provides free classes taught by volunteer instructors and Natural Resources Police Officers. Topics include: gun safety, wildlife management, ethics, survival/first aid, game identification, and how to hunt safely.

You will enjoy listening to volunteer instructors and Natural Resources Police Officers pass on their expertise and hunting experiences, talking with your fellow hunters during class breaks, and getting familiar with the total hunting experience. Extra help is available for those who may need it.

Show additional information

Who is required to complete hunter education in West Virginia?

According to West Virginia law, all hunters who were born on or after January 1, 1975, must complete hunter education certification in order to acquire a hunting license in West Virginia.

Find events near you

— OR —
or

December 2021

  • Dec 6 Mon

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 10 of 10 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Beckley District Office Beckley, WV 25801

    • Monday, December 6, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm
  • Dec 6 Mon

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 2 of 25 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    WV DNR DISTRICT 1 OFFICE Farmington, WV 26571

    • Monday, December 6, 2021 4:00pm - 7:00pm
  • Dec 12 Sun

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Closed 0 of 15 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Inwood DNR Office Inwood, WV 25428

    • Sunday, December 12, 2021 2:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Dec 13 Mon

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 13 of 25 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    WV DNR DISTRICT 1 OFFICE Farmington, WV 26571

    • Monday, December 13, 2021 4:00pm - 7:00pm
  • Dec 14 Tue

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 28 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    District 5 Forks of the Coal Alum Creek, WV 25003

    • Tuesday, December 14, 2021 10:00am - 12:00pm
  • Dec 16 Thu

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 28 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    District 5 Forks of the Coal Alum Creek, WV 25003

    • Thursday, December 16, 2021 6:00pm - 8:00pm
  • Dec 20 Mon

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 22 of 25 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    WV DNR DISTRICT 1 OFFICE Farmington, WV 26571

    • Monday, December 20, 2021 4:00pm - 7:00pm
  • Dec 27 Mon

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 21 of 25 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    WV DNR DISTRICT 1 OFFICE Farmington, WV 26571

    • Monday, December 27, 2021 4:00pm - 7:00pm

January 2022

  • Jan 4 Tue

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Registration Open 15 of 15 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    WV DNR DISTRICT 1 OFFICE Farmington, WV 26571

    • Tuesday, January 4, 2022 5:00pm - 7:00pm
  • Jan 9 Sun

    View Event

    Hands-On and Written Test

    Full Event with Wait List 0 of 15 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Inwood DNR Office Inwood, WV 25428

    • Sunday, January 9, 2022 2:00pm - 6:00pm
RSS