Hunter Education Course
At this course students will complete the traditional course in a classroom setting that includes lectures, hands-on activities and videos.
Hunter Education Internet Conclusion Course
Internet Course + Conclusion Class - Students complete a portion of the course online at their convenience, and then attend a shorter class than required by the traditional course. This option is not available in all parts of the state, so register for an available class before starting the online course.
The Colorado INTERNET-BASED Hunter Education Course is necessary for students to qualify for a Colorado Hunter Education Certificate. The major portion of this course is taken online, allowing the student to complete the mandatory homework. Registration for this event is only for students that have completed the online course.
There are three options available for taking the Internet course. There is an additional cost for the online courses, in addition to any fee for the classroom portion of the course. Learn more about Internet Courses for Hunter Education on the Colorado Parks and Wildlife website.
Bowhunter Education Course
Bowhunter education is not a required course in Colorado, but is offered as an opportunity to learn additional skills. It is offered as both a traditional class, and as an online bowhunter course + conclusion class in limited parts of the state. A bowhunter education card can only be used to purchase an archery-specific license, and cannot be used to purchase non-specific licenses such as turkey or small game.
Clinics and Seminars
Colorado Boating Safely Course
Anyone operating a motorboat, including a personal watercraft (PWC) or sailboat in Colorado must be at least 16 years old.
Individuals who are 14 and 15 and have successfully completed a state approved boating safely course can operate a motorized vessel in Colorado.
About the Class
The Boating Safely course is a combination of home study and classroom hours.
Students must read and study the 60 page manual prior to attending a review session with a boating instructor. To receive a manual, purchase it online here. If you are unable to purchase and use the electronic manual, please call 303-291-7575 or email [email protected] to request a physical manual.
The review session will run 2 to 3 hours, depending on class size. Students will take a written test at the end of the session and must pass with a score of at least 70% to receive a boater ID card.
Important Students must be a minimum of 14 years of age at the time of the class to attend a review session, and those under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Do I need to bring anything?
All attendees must bring the following to be admitted to the review session:
- Proof of age - (birth certificate, school ID, driver's license showing date of birth)
- 1" x 1" front facing photo
- Registration for any class must be completed at least seven (7) days in advance
- No registrations will be taken after the seven day cut-off or if the class becomes full
In the event of a scheduling conflict or illness, students may request a move to another review session by calling 303-291-7575. We ask that you do this no later than 24 hours prior to the class.
Instructor Workshops are continuing education trainings for active Colorado-certified hunter education instructors only. All Colorado hunter education instructors must attend a workshop every two years. These workshops are not open to the public.