South Carolina Boating Education Class


Boaters born after July 1, 2007, are required by law to pass an approved boating education course before operating a boat, personal watercraft or a speciality propcraft powered by 10 hp motor or more. Go to for a full list of exemptions.

Show additional information


The South Carolina Boater Education Course is recommended for motivated students 12 years of age and older with good reading and comprehension skills who want to learn more about the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. Course materials are on a 6th-grade reading level.

A typical Boater Education Course lasts 6-8 hours with exam time, depending on the class location and instructor.

Age-Related Information

NOTICE TO PARENTS: Students under 12 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Find events near you

— OR —

July 2024

August 2024