Virginia Boating Safety Education Classroom Course


Overview

This course is recommended for motivated students 12 years of age and older with good reading and comprehension skills who want to learn more about the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. Course materials are on a 6th grade reading level.

Show additional information

Details

A typical Boater Education Course lasts 6-8 hours with exam time depending on the class location and instructor.

Who Needs Boater Education?

In 2007, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a law to establish a boating safety education compliance requirement. This requirement will be phased in over the next several years; and by 2016, all operators of PWCs (personal watercraft such as jet skis, Sea Doos, and Wave Runners) and operators of motorboats with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater will be required to have a boating safety education course completion card on board when operating a PWC or motorboat. As of July 1, 2011, PWC operators 50 years of age and younger and motorboat operators 20 years of age and younger must show proof that they have completed a boating safety course. On July 1, 2012, PWC operators of any age and motorboat operators 30 years of age and younger must show proof that they have completed a boating safety course.

This course will enable you to become a safe boater who:

  • boats safely
  • respects other boaters
  • obeys the law
  • understands boating laws

Topics covered include:

  • boating operations
  • safe boating practices
  • navigation signs
  • boating responsibilities

Find events near you

or
Who needs a Boater Education?
In 2007, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a law to establish a boating safety education compliance requirement. This requirement will be phased in over the next several years and by 2016, all operators of PWCs (Personal Watercraft such as jet skis, Sea Doos, Wave Runners) and operators of Motorboats with a 10 hp or greater motor, will be required to have a boating safety education course completion card on board when operating a PWC or Motorboat. As of July 1, 2010, operators of PWCs 35 years and younger must show proof that they have completed a boating safety course. On July 2, 2011, operators of PWCs 50 and younger and operators of motorboats 20 and younger must show proof that they have completed a boating safety course.

Course Description
This course is recommended for motivated students age 12 and older with good reading and comprehension skills who want to learn more about the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. Course materials are on a 6th grade reading level.

A typical Boater Education course lasts 6-8 hours with exam time depending on the class location and instructor.

Use the search feature below to find events by zip code. Or you can use the calendar navigation arrows to find a class by date. Click on the desired class to get more specific information about class times, the location and the instructor. Once you find the event you want to register for, follow the instructions on the registration page to enroll.

September 2014